Ben.jpg

Ben thompson

I am 27 years old and was born in Boulder, CO, but spent the majority of my life living in a small town near Seattle.

After receiving a degree in Biology from Gonzaga University in 2012, I began working as a research scientist at the VA hospital in Seattle. Although my original plan was to attend medical school, I determined that my passions lay elsewhere. I knew that I could make a difference in the world as a doctor, but I felt that I could make more of a direct impact, especially on the environment, as a farmer. 

Our (Grace, Matt and I) dream to start a farm was originally just that. We spent many hikes fantasizing about how we could create something beautiful; something productive. 

However, after months of reading and research, we knew it was possible. If this is what would make us happy, why choose anything else? 
I now know that we made the right decision. Every day I am able to explore my passions of regenerative agriculture, environmental science, and cooking. I am excited to continue working toward our end goal - creating a beautiful, diverse, and healthy ecosystem.

20170721_201748.jpg

Grace Thompson

I am 25 and was born in Boulder, CO but grew up in Washington with my brother, Ben. Growing up, I always had a passion for nature and animals, believing I was meant to be a veterinarian until the age of 22, at which time I worked at a veterinary clinic and realized it was not my passion. I received my bachelor of science in biology from the University of Puget Sound. While in college I met a wonderful man (Matt) and we have been together since then, moving between Washington and Colorado together. 

I had the priveledge of working with Matt's family at their wedding and event center in Brighton, CO. During this time, the three of us (Matt, Ben, and I) were formulating our dream for the farm and trying to absorb as much information about farming as possible from books and YouTube videos. Ever since moving to the farm, we have worked as an amazing team, motivating each other over every obstacle. 

I am now happier than I have ever been, surrounded by my best friends, nature, animals, and good food every day. I currently work at the Chimacum Corner Farmstand when I'm not at the farm. 

As a farmer, I strive to continually improve the health of our land and ecosystem. Throughout my time at Kodama, I hope to inspire others to grow their own food and value the importance of a sustainable lifestyle.

20170506_190317.jpg

Matt Montoya

I am 25 years old, born in Boulder, Colorado. 
I am the eldest of 5 and was raised by a loving mother, a supportive father, and an amazing step mother. My mom passed away when I was just 11 years old, an event that forever shaped my life and molded me into the person I am today.

Family is one of the most important aspects of my life and my siblings are my best friends. I grew up immersed in books, films, and video games and was always encouraged to have a wild imagination. At an early age my father taught me the value of business and what it is to be an entrepreneur. Something I felt a higher education couldn't do for me. So I made my way through highschool as quickly as I could with a few rough spots here and there but had not yet found the path that would lead me to igniting the passion I had locked inside.

Through various trials and errors I eventually found myself in front of a beautiful intelligent girl who became my best friend. I moved to Washington to be closer to Grace and ended up falling in love with the green wilderness. I split my time between my family in Colorado and my new family here in Washington until the idea of the farm stirred in the minds of me, Grace, and Ben. Then as our vision developed that passion was sparked. I became enamored by the possibilities of permaculture and regenerative agriculture, intrigued by all the different fruits and vegetables and herbs I had never heard of, and inspired by the opportunity to create a positive change in the world. 

I am strong and stubborn, thoughtful and energetic, willful and determined. I love my family, Lord of the Rings, good food, hiking, animals, old cars, music, tattoos, cooking, sports, Bug & River, and I love working at Kodama Farm